Photo

Removing "A" Set tiles with event?

help event tileset

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 Harmonic Distortion

Harmonic Distortion

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:21 AM

Hello everyone!

I'm creating a dungeon and I want to have a "secret door" (i.e. the player presses a switch and a passageway opens up in an otherwise normal-looking wall). The wall is constructed using "A" set tiles. Is there a way to remove the wall tiles with an event to effectively open a passageway in the wall? I'd really rather not have to change the wall graphic to something else (as that would make the "hidden door" way too obvious). It doesn't have to be animated or anything, I just need the section of wall to disappear.

I'm not that good with events yet so please forgive me if this is a foolish question. ^^;;; Let me know if you need any more details.

Thanks!

#2 tpasmall

tpasmall

The Mauve Avenger

• Early Adopter+
  • 669 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:31 AM

Use an event set up over the passageway then use a switch to change the graphic on the event.

eg.

Event Page 1 -> No Graphic

(switch a on)

Event Page 2 -> 'Hole' Graphic

newbanner.png

editorium.png

RM Games I've Enjoyed:

Manifest, Forced Recall, The Cartographer, Star Stealing Prince

#3 Harmonic Distortion

Harmonic Distortion

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:16 AM

Thanks! After a little tweaking this seems to have worked. However, I've run into another small snag. The wall in question is two tiles high (there's the "wall top" tile and the "wall side" tile) and the player is approaching from above. However, no matter what options I set on the event for the top tile, the player cannot pass through it. If necessary, I will change this to a second "hole" tile, but I would really like to keep the "wall top" graphic in place. Any way to get around this?