Jump to content


Photo

rvdata2

rvdata2 edit

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 GozU

GozU

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 06:43 PM

Hi

im a super rpg fan, and now im dedicating my days to make a RPG, but i dont know how to edit rvdata2 files,
the game.exe is using rvdata2 files as save games, and i need to edit it to test some stuff on my game that i dont want to do with the maker.
is there anyway to decrypt the code of rvdata2 files and save them again in rvdata2?
i kinda researched for it and it lead me to "sgedit" but only supports "rvdata" and not "rvdata2"
ive seen that here: https://sites.google...arklunas/sgedit
thats what i want but for rvdata2 or some other way.

please help me.

#2 Tsukihime

Tsukihime

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 5,437 posts

User's Awards

        

Posted 16 December 2012 - 07:02 PM

rvdata2 is just two Marshal serialized objects: the first is the "header" while the second is a hash containing a bunch of game data. rvdata was I think was just 12 or however many Marshal objects.

Which is why sgedit doesn't work because they are stored differently.

Edited by Tsukihime, 16 December 2012 - 07:02 PM.

My Scripts. Go here for Bugs and Requests.
Want to write a tutorial? Submit a community tutorial!

himeworks011.png

Like on Facebook: HimeWorks
Follow me on Twitter for the latest updates! @HimeWorks

#3 Shaz

Shaz

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 16,061 posts

User's Awards

        

Posted 16 December 2012 - 07:07 PM

For "testing stuff" you can just use the debugger while playing (F9) and change switches and variables. Anything more complicated would require an event added to change settings around.
Avatar by Nio Kasgami

18169c77d45bf093.jpg18169c77ee71a21e.png18169c77eb8a1676.png47e3eb338e149021.png47e3eb33011708d4.jpg47e3eb33c3fcdd85.jpg43b995025d32e369.jpg18169c77d1548695.jpg18169c77d05acf45.jpg43aa62e584d51b37.jpg18057e87da521186.jpg

Amaranth Games
http://www.amaranthia.com

#4 GozU

GozU

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 03:39 PM

I know about F9
its just i wanna try some possibilities that players can do, and i dont have the time to play my game till the part i want passing trough all quests, i just wanna boost me, so i can skip everything forward, because my rpg uses chain questing it means if you did quest X. it will open Quest Y and close Quest W, you see, its something interesting that im doing =)

#5 Shaz

Shaz

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 16,061 posts

User's Awards

        

Posted 17 December 2012 - 03:41 PM

Play up to the point you want to test, then save your game. You can reload it and test stuff as much as you want, as long as you don't save over it again.

Though you could just use the debugger - after all, you only know that a quest has been completed if a switch has been turned on (unless you're using a different kind of script).

If I just want to test something on a particular map, I don't have a save file and don't want to play up to that point, and there are too many things to change to use the debugger each time, I'll just create a parallel process event on the map that sets all the necessary switches then turns on a self switch. A bit of mucking around to set up the first time, but you only have to bother with it once. Just got to make sure it's deleted when testing's done.
Avatar by Nio Kasgami

18169c77d45bf093.jpg18169c77ee71a21e.png18169c77eb8a1676.png47e3eb338e149021.png47e3eb33011708d4.jpg47e3eb33c3fcdd85.jpg43b995025d32e369.jpg18169c77d1548695.jpg18169c77d05acf45.jpg43aa62e584d51b37.jpg18057e87da521186.jpg

Amaranth Games
http://www.amaranthia.com

#6 GozU

GozU

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 04:25 PM

Yes Shaz. your completely right, and i agree with you, but im just trying to avoid all that scrip and time, i just wanted a rvdata2 editor, because i cant edit save files with the RPG Maker, its an automated coding, and to do what i want i need to change the game code that will give me much work, ive tried to change the EXP rate higher and it caused some glitches... anyways thank you for you kind help and time.

#7 Tsukihime

Tsukihime

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 5,437 posts

User's Awards

        

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:00 PM

I think writing an rvdata2 save editor would require more effort.
My Scripts. Go here for Bugs and Requests.
Want to write a tutorial? Submit a community tutorial!

himeworks011.png

Like on Facebook: HimeWorks
Follow me on Twitter for the latest updates! @HimeWorks

#8 Celianna

Celianna

    VX/Ace tileset artist

  • Global Moderators
  • 6,816 posts

User's Awards

        

Posted 17 December 2012 - 06:31 PM

Why not have a test map, where you set the starting position. Run an event that turns on ALL needed switches, sets all variables, changes the player's level, add the items etc. etc. - everything you need to test that specific part of the game. Then transfer the player to the map you need to test.

It's how the rest of us do it.

new_logo_small_zpsae8f2402.png
A new dungeon-themed tileset in the works.