Recent content by aozgolo

1. aozgolo

Schools in RPGs - what elements do you consider important?

For lessons, I think that's only important if you make it important. If you look at the Harry Potter series, we only see classroom scenes when it makes sense in the narrative, most of the story takes place outside of class. Many Visual Novels involving school-age kids even gloss over school by...
  2. aozgolo

Game Idea: Farmer by day, Hunter by night

I'm not even to the point of starting myself, I have a lot of experience on game design, not so much with RPGMaker and I'm still learning the program with simple projects but definitely something I want to aim for. My other thread where I discussed a time-slice system was actually for this...
  3. aozgolo

How many features until its overboard?

I tended to make the mistake in my youth as a game designer that the VERY first thing I would do in designing my game (beyond initial concept) is create an entirely arbitrary feature list: 100+ hours of non linear gameplay! 50+ sidequests! Crafting! Fishing! Monster Taming! Immersive...
  4. aozgolo

Game Idea: Farmer by day, Hunter by night

I'm making a farm themed RPG myself, I am reluctant to compare it to Harvest Moon, though some similarities are bound to be there. While I am considering hunting in my game (as in hunting wild animals) I haven't considered any sort of combat system. I would caution that while it's not a bad...
  5. aozgolo

To Make a Stuning Intro

So 2 points to add: 1) Kill your darlings. As a writer you MUST be willing to let go of ideas, I understand you have it fully formed in your head how you want it to start but if you are intending an audience for this you need to look at it from that audience's point of view, I've never seen or...
  6. aozgolo

Lack of battles