RPG Maker Forums

The Stranger
The Stranger
Why can't you write? I know how you feel, though. I enjoy writing stories far more than designing game mechanics. Been thinking of giving up on game making entirely, and returning to writing stories.
RachelTheSeeker
RachelTheSeeker
The problem is I *can* write. I know I can, and I'm allegedly good at it. But I'm constantly reminded of my failures as a game dev despite being locked into RPG Maker Network's community. I just get caught up in other garbage that I'm not good at, for the sake of telling a story that people might actually pay attention to.
Biestmann
Biestmann
Sounds like making visual novels could be a good fit for you!
RachelTheSeeker
RachelTheSeeker
I'm not interested in those. If I'm making a game, I'm making a game. If I'm writing a story, I'm writing a story.
Shaz
Shaz
Perhaps you may be able to team up with others to bring your story to light. There are people who excel at things other than writing, who might be a good match for you.
RachelTheSeeker
RachelTheSeeker
Why should I force other people to do the work for me? Besides, if I can't pull my own weight, why ruin a team effort?
MrKiwi
MrKiwi
That sounds so negative from you :c Its not forcing if other are willing to help. You can't do everything.
CrowStorm
CrowStorm
" I feel like every day I don't make something is wasted "

This is the one part of your profile post I can really relate to. In my case, it's a nasty combination of physical illness, depression, chores, and poverty-motivated-job-seeking all factoring in as much as simple garden variety lack of motivation, but every day I don't work on my game feels like a day of work permanently and irreparably lost.
CrowStorm
CrowStorm
"I feel like there's a story I want to write with my characters but it's buried under stupid video game mechanics. "

Figure out why you think those mechanics are stupid, and fix or excise them on a case-by-case basis.