A complaint ..

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by RHachicho, Jun 11, 2017.

1. RHachicho

RHachicho Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I recently ran across an issue with my first deployed build of the game. I am a new artist trying to get started on patreon .. So you can imagine what a broken first build looks like. If I felt this was in any way my fault I wouldn't be complaining here. But I felt I had to say something as this error speaks volumes about the developers of rpgmaker .. and what they think of their end user.

Basically .. when I was still an amateur I downloaded a bunch of free to use face-sets that primarily dealt with townspeople. However these facesets had long strings of letters and numbers at the end of their name. However .. since they still worked and I was learning rpgmaker and had better things to do I didn't bother renaming them .. And after a while they where involved in a lot of dialogue. Now SOME update .. not sure which has decided that no .. these files will not be recognized by the editor. A bit of a mean move .. But one I could have lived with .. No what really irked me is it DIDN'T BREAK THE PREVIOUS EVENTS!

Which means that all the dev team did was change the simple variable of what name formats show up in the editor. It didn't actually modify rpgmakers front end or remove the ability to recognize these files at all .. well .. so far so good you might say.

Then it comes to deploying the game and the editor flat out ignores these files despite the fact that they are being used and working in events on the playtester .. basically .. the playtester lies .. If the editor had actually been reconfigured to reject those filenames wholesale I would have been annoyed .. But it would have caught it all in playtesting. But this!? I feel like the playtester just stuck me with a big trollface. What you thought your game worked fine bro!? Nah it's totally broken!