RMMV A life lived

Discussion in 'Ideas and Prototypes' started by Builds_a_lot, Dec 13, 2018.

1. Builds_a_lot

Builds_a_lot Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Overview:
    I've been working out a game since June/July 2017 that started as breaking standard RPG conventions. Like elves aren't wise and noble, dwarves aren't little drunken Scottish warriors, What would it be to play in a world without humans as the focal point? What would it be to play as a PC character defined by the world's past conflicts? What if you play through the game multiple times with randomly generated PCs with various backstories? A PC that feels alive, sympathetic, relatable? To come across language, ideological, political or religious barriers and having to deal with that as the current PC? I want to craft an RPG with a semi life sim feel that actually tells a personal story.

So you can see how this evolved from setting the RPG genre on it's ear to, well this. I wanted to explore a humanless world, a complicated world, How the events of one culture's actions had unseen and far reaching effects on everything else. I also wanted an RPG that there was no big bad, you aren't the chosen one. You play as Every man nobody going through your life.

Each PC has a logical reason to take up exploring the world, but that isn't the point of the game so much as you are to see through the eyes of your character their life, their world, the world outside their frame of reference. To experience something that may be alien to you. I want the game to make the player feel, understand, learn, and not to repeat the mistakes of the past.

-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
    I am adding a party system, with a breakdown of individual classes per character so every companion and Player Character are unique. Sort of Dragon age inspired. That is the feel I'm going for.