A little guidance into Creating Action Sprites

Discussion in 'Resource Support' started by Shefflox, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Shefflox

Shefflox Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    This is for RPG Maker MV just to clarify. My question is for anyone who has done this and is not at all a request more of guidelines for doing this. I'm new to doing pixel art for my game, and I am attempting to make sprites in action. For example one of my characters I want to make him be able to slash with a visible sword outside of combat, so in other words a sprite animation that is usable for certain events. I am hoping someone out there could give me some advise on how to do this or perhaps pictures if anyone has done this. I am also hoping that maybe if I get good enough at the action sprites I might be able to do sword fight cut scenes.

That being said I have somewhat of an idea on how to do it, but I think it would only work if I increases the size of the image file to fit the sprite in it with a sword? Again not sure, so anyone who has guidance suggestions, videos, other posts to look at. I would be most appreciative. Thanks RPG Community!

2. Jules98

Jules98 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Dutch
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    The sprite can be basically any size, what matters is the structure of the spritesheet.

Here is an excerpt from the help file to help you along:

3. Shefflox

Shefflox Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I always wondered what the ! and $ did, I just knew certain files had them, i never knew what they were for. Does anyone else have any advise for making action sprites with MV sprites?

4. Bex

Bex Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV