Status
Not open for further replies.

Umpikuja

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I am a beginner. I apologize if this has been asked before. I have been looking around for an answer before coming here.

I want to create an autorun event that happens every time the player enters the map. I want to enter an elevator, shake the screen and rumble a bit, play a ding, end the event and walk out. I see how to do this much with switches. But I want this to happen every time I enter that elevator.

autoruntest01.png

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Good try, but not quite right.

Using switches or self switches to active a new event page is a permanent thing.  It doesn't get reset when you re-enter the map, but only when you deliberately change the switch or self switch again.

To have something run every time you enter a map, you simply use an Erase Event command.  That removes the event for the remainder of the time you're on the map, but when the map is next loaded, that event will be loaded again too.

Also, unless this is something that takes some time to run and you don't want the player to be able to move while it's happening, I suggest you change it to parallel process trigger instead of autorun.  Autoruns remove control from the player, and if you have several, only one of them will run at a time (and I'm not sure if they will queue up, but if they do, you have no control over the order).  Parallel process events will all run at the same time, and will allow the player to keep doing stuff as well.

So to fix your event, remove any references to self switches and remove the second page, and add Erase Event as the last command.

Last edited by a moderator:

Dad3353

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses