A Question for Composers

Joerao

Composer
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
First of all, this may well be in the wrong place. Apologies in advance, mods.

As some of you know, I was an active composer in the old rpgmakervx.net community around two years ago. Life forced me to take a bit of a break, but I've come back to the community here and one thing has struck me: why are so few composers doing music for free?

Don't be me wrong - I don't think there's anything wrong with charging for good music on these forums (in fact, I grew my business from my first paid commissions from the RM forums). But I do think that there's something special about this community. Everyone is always willing to help others out. We're all creative people with the same dream. And I think that developers here should have access to quality music, for free, if they want it. They don't need a lot (perhaps one or two character themes and the rest stock/from other games?) and they don't need it quickly, but it should be an option. 

I composed music on the forums for around a year and a half before I started doing paid commissions. And though the polish of my work has definitely increased, and though my pieces sound a lot better than they did, one thing I've noticed is that I've lost some of my creativity. When I've done solely paid work over a long period of time, I'll often follow the same old tried-and-true formula. Even when I try to be original, it's very difficult. The money becomes more important than the music itself (even though, as a hobbyist rather than a professional, I don't really need the money). When I look back at some of the old work I did for free on the forums, I'm amazed at how creative some of the pieces were, and I wish I could recapture some of that creativity and channel it into my current work.