A total newbie

RepentantSky

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
I'm not sure if this is the best place to ask, but I have an idea for a game that I think RPG Maker is perfect for, but admittedly, I don't know a lot about the series. I once started making a game with my PlayStation 1 version back in the day, but haven't really touched it since. So, what I would like to know, is what's the best RPG Maker to use for someone with pretty much no experience in development, and what script(s) do I need to download to use the RPG Maker to it's fullest?

I have a lot to learn, as I don't know what certain terms are like the ones you can pick when you register to join, and I'm not sure where the best starting point is for making a game. Obviously, I have a lot of ideas floating around in my head, but I don't want to get ahead of myself, and give up on my project before it really ever gets started. So, if anyone is willing, and assuming I'm in the right place, some basic information on what to do in game development, and which RPG Maker to use would be greatly appreciated.

pickledylans

lov the cronch
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
honestly, it really depends on what you want out of it, but i recommend MV or 2K if youre planning a realllyyy retro looking game and you like its battle system for your project

as far as scripts and plugins go, it entirely depends on what your game needs. putting in plugins that you dont really have a use for is just gonna make your life harder and your game weirdly bloated in the long run