Accepting Criticism: Taking Your Lumps vs Being a Baby

jwideman

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
So the Birthday Bash event got a lot of newbies to enter and release their games. (I'm one of them.) And while there were some standout projects, some stood out for all the wrong reasons. For those who received nothing but glowing reviews, congratulations and keep up the good work, but this post isn't for you. Likewise, if you got bad reviews and resolved to make improvements, you don't need my advice. No, my words are for those of you who felt they were treated too harshly, or decided maybe this game making thing isn't for you. And if you give me a few minutes, you will benefit from it. I guarantee it.

Before I begin, a little background on me. I'm a published author. No, I'm nobody famous, but I'm not an "Amazon author" either. I wrote and sold some short stories, sold a book to an indie publisher, and now exercise my creative muscles in other ways. I tell you this because while I'm a newbie to RPG Maker, I'm no stranger to putting stuff out to be judged by the public. I've collected more rejection letters than manuscripts. If I didn't learn to handle criticism maturely, I couldn't have kept going, and I certainly couldn't have improved my writing.

Now that that's out of the way, let's begin.

First, you finished your project. You should feel proud of this. It's quite an accomplishment. I've talked to a lot of wannabe writers who've never finished any of their stories. I have an old school buddy who hasn't even started the novel he swears is all in his head. It's been there for the past 30 years, but he'll get it written some day, he promises. More people want to have completed a project - being a book, or a game, or whatever - than have completed one. In fact, I have a lot of unfinished manuscripts and a few unfinished games. So good on you for getting it done.