HimmDawg

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hey there.
For my game I wanted to have text sounds when the characters are displayed. For that purpose I use a script from Zerbu (https://www.rpgmakercentral.com/topic/607-text-sound-effect-updated/) because I'm fairly new to Ruby. It works perfectly but now I want to change the text sound via an in-game event. I hope it's okay if I post a fraction of the code here for reference:
Code:
module Text_Sound_Effect

MESSAGE_SOUND = RPG::SE.new("Knock", 50, 70)

MESSAGE_SOUND_FRAMES = 3

MESSAGE_SOUND_DISABLE = 94
end
So I tried several things:
  • first I tried to simply call it via "Text_Sound_Effect.MESSAGE_SOUND = ..." but this didn't work because it is handled as a constant or something like that
  • I then researched a bit and tried to write a class containing the variable and calling this variable from the module and my in-game event. I'm not 100% sure anymore but I think the engine then said that my variable name is not a method
  • so I tried to write a method within the class to change the variable from outside. That didn't work for me either.
I also bumped into classes with self.method stuff but I was kinda lost there. So maybe somebody could help me out here =)

Last edited:

Kes

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
@HimmDawg I think this is best in Script Support as you want help to adapt a script to your needs. Please edit your post to include a link to the web page where you got the script so that if people need to check something before offering a suggestion they won't have to go hunting around the internet.

I've moved this thread to RGSSx Script Support. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

TheoAllen

Self-proclaimed jack of all trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
There are two approaches.