Schplee

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hi, I was wondering if any clever scripters could lend a hand with this problem. I am having trouble getting Todds autosave to work nicely with the Atelier MOG_Scene_File_A savescreen GUI. 

The Atelier script has custom variables for time, location and other data. Todds script just creates a generic save file without these data. So when MOG_Scene_File_A tries to display the null data, it runs an error message. At least I think that's what's happening.

At the moment I've changed the Atelier error handler to display a simple AUTOSAVE message. It looks the part, but it's clumsy. You are defaulted to that file index and are able to overwrite it with a new save. 

I'm not good with coding so I'm hoping someone can help me solve this ugliness. The two solutions I can think of would be;

1/ Find a way to get Todds script to run the data gathering from Ateliers' script. So that it saves with all the expected variables.

2/ Alter Mogs script to disable saving to the first slot, and begin with the second slot selected instead.

The relevant scripts are;

1. MOG_Scene_FILE_A (from the Master 10 Demo)
  2. DT's Autosave

Schplee

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Okay, so it turns out the Atelier script uses globals after all. I was able to fix the formatting simply by changing Todds script to reflect this;

Code:
 #--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  # * Save header writer
  #--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  def self.make_save_header
      header = {}
      header[:characters] = $game_party.characters_for_savefile
      header[:playtime_s] = $game_system.playtime_s
      header[:playtime] = $game_system.playtime
      header[:map_name] = $game_map.display_name
      header[:members] = $game_party.members
      header
  end