Advice for making an RPG Maker Game for someone who overthinks/procrastinates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jamalMV, Nov 16, 2016.

1. jamalMV

jamalMV Villager Member

First Language:
    english
    Hey guys, so i'm thinking that i might start on an RPG Maker game at some point but i'm a bit overwhelmed by all the information alot of people have given in regards to how your games should look over social media.

I am not a beginner at this it's just i tend to find it difficult to organize my thoughts and ideas or overthink/procrastinate whenever i try to create something good with RPG Maker. So what i'm looking for essentially is a short piece of advice rather than a ton of information that i would find very difficult to wrap my head around. any ideas?

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2016
  2. Iliketea

Iliketea Tea lover Veteran

First Language:
    German
    If its your first time then you should do a very short game at first before doing your "Real" game.

Something like a story about a cat wanting to eat fish and goes to the harbor to get some but has to deal with evil dogs and help other cats so they show her the way or something.

Not longer than a hour.

Without using any plugins or any other graphics and music than the RTP.

That way you can get some of the basics down and familiarize yourself with the program :)

Also do some maps for fun or try to copy some maps you see on the forum to practice mapping

Vox Novus likes this.
  3. Vox Novus

Vox Novus Knight of Whispers Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Well my number one and what I consider to be one of the most important ones is to have fun with what you make. If you don't enjoy working on it you aren't getting anything out of the hobby; while you want other people to enjoy your games and want to play them, this hobby should be something you do for yourself.