Advice on What to Do When You Don't Know What You Want Your RPG Maker Game to be

Anthem

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Agh. Just thinking about all the things I want to do with my game really frustrate me to no end.

Right now I'm trying to make a VX Ace game where an OC has to travel with a few Video Game characters on a mission. The problem is that I don't know what I even want to do with it or how I want to go about it at all beyond that and every time I think that "Yes this might be what I want.", a few hours later I think "No. This isn't it. Nobody would like this crap." I keep thinking I have characters I want then I realize I want some other characters instead. I keep having a series of skills and then I think that's way too much and they'd be too similar. It's really something that is demotivating me HARD and making me want to just give up. Not helped is the fact that I have no experience in making my own sprites. Please. I beg everyone here... What should I do!? Should I just give up and just stop trying because I feel like that's the best option right now.

ravenhood

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Chinese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
select the idea that you want to do the most and spend 3 days to work on it. After that, if you still feel like you want to go with that idea, go for it, if not, repeat the process with another idea

mishakoc

Professional Procrastinator
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Czech
Primarily Uses
RMMV