Zanazaru

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
So I'm pretty new to the rpg maker scripts/plugins thing as I never used them in Xp or VXA, but I have some experience in generell coding.

I've read that Aliasing is good practice for many reasons and got it for the most part... I think... ^^

Anyhow I'm trying to recreate a SkipTitle script I saw online but it didn't use aliasing, so I looked at http://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?/topic/47215-tutorial-the-absolute-basics-of-plugin-making/

and the pre-made plugins for ideas how to do this properly.

So in the posted tutorial it says that you sometimes need to "call.this" for it to work but not always?

My question is, am I doing this right?

var _skipScreen_Alias_Scene_GameEnd_commandToTitle = Scene_GameEnd.prototype.commandToTitle;Scene_GameEnd.prototype.commandToTitle = function() { this.fadeOutAll(); if(Number(params["forbid_Title"]) == 1) { SceneManager.goto(Scene_Map); } else { SceneManager.goto(Scene_Title); }};Thank you in advance ^^

Iavra

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
You are overwriting the function in this case, which means your plugin will be imcompatible with everything else that deal with it, unless it's placed above them in the plugin manager. For proper aliasing, you need to actually call the variable you created at the first line, like this:

Code:
var _skipScreen_Alias_Scene_GameEnd_commandToTitle = Scene_GameEnd.prototype.commandToTitle;Scene_GameEnd.prototype.commandToTitle = function() {    if(Number(params["forbid_Title"]) == 1)    {        this.fadeOutAll();        SceneManager.goto(Scene_Map);    }     else    {        _skipScreen_Alias_Scene_GameEnd_commandToTitle.call(this);    }};

Zanazaru

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German