Am i being irrational?

Nohilphy

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Engliah
Primarily Uses
N/A
I feel like a mug to be honest and i don't know if what has happened is the norm or if I've been screwed over.
Its my first project and attempting to build a commercial game anyway I stupidly thought/trusted that if i was to order custom art work from a vender on fiverr , that i would own it or even if the vender still legally owned it they would let it be exclusive to me. any way the reason i'm upset it a had someone on fiverr draw me up $250 worth of custom tile sets which were quite good. the only problem is as soon as i received it they immediately uploaded those exact same tile sets onto their Itch account for sale for a standard price. i felt like i wanted my game to be unique and knowing that those tile sets are now showcased i feel that they're alot less value to me , plus they were my ideas!
Just to be clear I'm not upset that i paid $250 and they're being sold for less , i'm just upset because they were my ideas unique to my game development and i want so bad for it to be unique.
Now i don't know if I'm right or wrong to be upset but as i'm new too game developing i guess its all a learning curve .
I love the Rpg maker community please tell me what you think and if you have any other warnings or tips about how to avoid similar situations then i will greatly apricate that thank you

TheoAllen

Self-proclaimed jack of all trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Was there an agreement about exclusivity or was it just your assumption that it should be exclusive?

Nohilphy

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Engliah
Primarily Uses
N/A
There was no agreement it was an assumption , I'm just trying to get my head round it . i feel upset but it seems silly to be upset over if its the norm , or is it not the norm?

Capitán

kind of a big deal
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Engilsh
Primarily Uses
RMMV