Animated Faces (Yanfly Compatible)

Discussion in 'JS Plugin Requests' started by Merancapeman, Nov 14, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Merancapeman

Merancapeman Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    So, for a long while, Message Plus used to be the go-to when it came to making cutscenes for my MV game, as he had a part of his plugin that allowed you to use animated faces when a character was talking. It wasn't until I started playing with it and Yanfly's uber-essential Message Core system that I realized there was an issue: Message Plus' name window function was incompatible with Yanfly's, and it wasn't as functional as his as well. Where with Yanfly's you could change the color, font, and so on of the name window, Message Plus only had the window and default font, and you couldn't use commands. When talking with a name window with both Message Plus and Yanfly's Message Core turned on, Yanfly's name window would become stuck open and would appear no matter where you went and long after a conversation was over. The author of Message Plus promised to include compatibility between these two mods, and the idea was tossed around (one that I happened to agree with) that the animated faces portion of the plugin should be it's own plugin.

But that was a long time ago. The author of Message Plus has abandoned the script with no hope of completion, and with it the hopes of compatibility.

With Yanfly's script suite nearly becoming a must-have for my solo project, I've become distraught as I've come to the realization that without a potential patch, I have to drop the idea of animated faces. This is more unfortunate as I've spent days working on animated faces to use for the project. Is there anyone out there savvy enough to do one of a few things?

A.) Separate the animated faces portion of the Message Plus plugin so that it doesn't interfere with Yanfly's Message Core.

B.) Create a patch file so the two can work together.