moJoe

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Yo!

I am trying to add an animated svbattler to the menu screen but have only managed to add a non animated sprite. I have looked into "SRD_AltMenuScreen_BustSelect" to try and reverse engineer and see how he did it but.. I am a beginner at coding and it may take me weeks to fully understand what's going on there. I know it has been done before but I am trying to look at a simpler code to understand the process.

I am requesting a simplified code that will do just that: add a animated svbattler to the menu screen, positioning and which battler doesnt matter for now.

My current understanding as to why my sprite wont animate is because opening the menu stops the map animations. So a custom frame counter needs to be created in order to update the sprite into animation. I have a feeling I am way off the mark here.

help! :)

JavaScript:
function Scene_CustomMenu() {
    this.initialize.apply(this, arguments);
}

Scene_CustomMenu.prototype = Object.create(Scene_Menu.prototype);
Scene_CustomMenu.prototype.constructor = Scene_CustomMenu;

Scene_CustomMenu.prototype.create = function () {
    Scene_Menu.prototype.create.call(this);
    this.createSVBattler();
};

Scene_CustomMenu.prototype.createSVBattler = function() {
    this._spriteActors = new Sprite_CustomActor(this.actor());
    this.addChild(this._spriteActors);
};

function Sprite_CustomActor() {
    this.initialize.apply(this, arguments);
}

Sprite_CustomActor.prototype = Object.create(Sprite_Actor.prototype);
Sprite_CustomActor.prototype.constructor = Sprite_CustomActor;

Sprite_CustomActor.prototype.setActorHome = function(index) {
    this.setHome(670, 290);
};

moJoe

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV