Any tips for pixel art?

Musixim

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
i wanted to make original art for my game, but i don't have money to pay artists

so, i'm currently learning it for myself, while also expanding my skill lists...
any tips on how to start?

Hyk

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Don't be afraid to use references. If you have to, trace over pictures and go from there, pull several images apart and stick them together then trace over. DO what you have to do, because in art, the only thing that matters is the end result, how you get there doesn't matter.

Hyouryuu-Na

Sapphire Sodium
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Not English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm no pixel artist but you can take a look at different pixel art tutorials on youtube. Those have been very useful for me personally. For character art, you can use bases as a guide. And you don't have to do everything from scratch to be completely original though :0 There are tons of free assets you can find for rpg maker. If you're good at editing (splitting, joining, recoloring etc.) You can customize it and make it something unique ^^
It's okay to learn from other people's artwork and tracing is a good way to do it but if you do end up using parts or tracing from someone else's work in your final game or anywhere that's public, make sure to credit them.

Musixim

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
alright
i tried messing around from scratch, it didn't end well

so i'll start by watching youtube and try using base and tracing for a start

Thanks for the tips!

ADMtn

Treasure Hunter
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV