Capitán

kind of a big deal
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Engilsh
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Ok, the title may be a bit confusing but I could not find a better way to summarize my issue.

So I have a window that periodically gets text added to it, when new text is added the old text is pushed up vertically by a fixed amount, (this is the first problem) I do not want the text to overlap, think "chat box" I'm very new to windows in rpg maker.

Here's a diagram of what I'm trying to explain

because the new text is always a different length I do not want the old text to be moved up by a fixed amount, how can i calculate how much the old text should be moved up by?

The second problem is once the window is full how do I create a scrolling effect? Right now i'm just clearing the entire window after a fixed amount of text has been appended, e.g. after 7 additions the window is cleared. By scrolling affect I mean I want all the text to stay in the box but as new text is added it continuously scrolls.

Thanks for listening, and I will appreciate any help.

Aerosys

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
german
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
because the new text is always a different length I do not want the old text to be moved up by a fixed amount, how can i calculate how much the old text should be moved up by?
You can use "this.fittingHeight(numberOfLines)" to the height, when you know or able to guess the number of lines of the text.

The second problem is once the window is full how do I create a scrolling effect? Right now i'm just clearing the entire window after a fixed amount of text has been appended, e.g. after 7 additions the window is cleared. By scrolling affect I mean I want all the text to stay in the box but as new text is added it continuously scrolls.