Are Chibi Style MV Sprites Looked Down On?

Are Chibi Style MV Sprites Looked Down On?

• Total voters

TypicalPlayer82692

Spooky Boi
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello, I believe this is the correct place to post this but please move it if not.

I'm an aspiring dev trying to figure out what kind of pixel artstyle would suit the game I have in mind. I was okay with MV's character chibi sprite style that the game maker came with, but most artists I see go for a more complex and taller style for commissions and their own projects.

Because of this i'm considering going for the latter pixel style. However, I wonder if I have to change a lot of other sprites just to make the character sprite not stand out like a sore thumb, but that's another topic.

Are chibi style MV sprites disliked or looked down on commercially?
If not, are there a current handful of pixel artists that can do such a style?

I've tried looking around personally on different sites but couldn't find many recent results.

rue669

RueToYou
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I personally can not stand the MV Chibi sprites. What I did was get a template for tall sprites that I liked and then hired pixel artists to make custom sprites using the template as a base. It can be costly though, but if you are going commercial and can’t do the pixel art yourself, then get that chequebook out.

Now having said that, the VX Ace sprites which are also Chibi are nice looking in my opinion. They have more of an ff4 classic look to them.

Insomniac_Warrior

Sleep is overpowered.
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RM2k