Are they any alternatives to Yanfly's Grid-Free Doodads plugin/addon

Sir_Vinny

Likes making art a little bit too much
Reaction score
First Language
Asian language
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm pretty new with RPG Maker MV, so I just wanted to know a free alternative to Yanfly's Grid-Free Doodads plugin for lighting stuff (I want to make light emissions). Since I'm a cheapskate. Please do help me, sincerely from a newbie.

Restart

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
there isn't anything with the exact same functionality, but you can get something similar with https://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?threads/parallax-utils.103910/

if you want just lighting in general, community lighting is free

Sir_Vinny

Reaction score
First Language
Asian language
Primarily Uses
RMMV
there isn't anything with the exact same functionality, but you can get something similar with https://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?threads/parallax-utils.103910/

if you want just lighting in general, community lighting is free
Thank you for the suggestion, I'll give it a look and try it out to see if it works!

ImaginaryVillain

High Cultist of the Sporkle
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Absurdism
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
https://quxios.github.io/plugins/QMap is pretty much the improved version of Doodads except you have to use it's editor. It not only places images at any pixel coordinate, but also at any Z. Plus it allows for spritesheet animations, collision, a breathing effect, tinting, scaling and opacity. It even allows objects to be tied to switches/variables/JS.... And if that's not good enough, it's also a fantastic parallax plugin. :LZSexcite:

Sir_Vinny

Reaction score
First Language
Asian language
Primarily Uses
RMMV