StrawberrySmiles

The Talking Fruit
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I like drawing things, but I fail to get around to making them look good colored. I don't mind obtaining free programs such as GIMP, Paint.net, etc. I have Photoshop C6 as well.

Whenever I open up a scanned sketch to lineart, I get overwhelmed or scared, then quit. It seems easier using colored pencils, but all the tuts for those are for ARTIST'S colored pencils (Prismacolor?).

So I've searched for digital coloring tutorials with a mouse, but unfortunately I can never find anything that useful.

For a beginner like me, does anyone have any tips or links to useful tutorials?

Thanks. :D

I'd love to color like these some day:

img]http://orig05.deviantart.net/d2e7/f/2014/135/6/c/pursuit_by_glaciesclover-d7i4ktp.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

hadecynn

Dreams Circle
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I am by no means a professional, but I feel I've dabbled in CG long enough to be able to offer my thoughts. (Here's a link to something from a few years back to establish my credibility, and to make sure this is what you are looking for. Line art done in analog pencil & paper, scanned, then all coloring on PS/Paint Tool SAI.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u7o4dknoisklca3/Color.jpg?dl=0

First things first, you need a tablet, period. CG isn't impossible with a mouse, but you would probably have enough time to finish enough commissions to cover for the cost of your tablet, in the same time it takes you to finish one piece of work with a mouse. Maybe. That's how big of a difference in work efficiency we are talking about.