Assets: Better to make your own?

Do you make your own assets for your games?

• Yes, my assets are made by me.

Votes: 6 12.0%
  • No, I use premade.

Votes: 6 12.0%
  • No, but I edit often.

Votes: 14 28.0%
  • I make my own and use premade.

Votes: 30 60.0%

• Total voters

VitaliaDi

Jedi Master
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What would you say is the best approach when it come to assets?

One one hand, you can make your own from scratch. It takes a very long time, but it's fresh. Those assets will have never been used before your game.

On the other hand using premade assets saves a ton of time and if your art game isn't good enough to make your assets look good, there are lots of capable artists who have supplied assets for free or paid.

I tend to lead towards creating my own assets. But, I'm an artist even though my stuff isn't as detailed as RTP type assets mine totally get the job done and give my games that retro feel. Both games I've completed have been completely done with all of my own visual work. The third game I'm working on is making us of the awesome retro The Mighty Pack by The Mighty Palm, making it fit my own game. I like for my game's art to have my own touch to it. But wow is it amazing to not have to make the entirely new tileset/s.
I feel like I can work more on the plot of the game this way.

Looking forward to the discussion on this.

Last edited:

Archeia

Level 99 Demi-fiend
Developer
Reaction score
First Language
Filipino
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
A lot of game studios make assets their own but also use premade assets. In fact, FFXV uses premade stock assets from certain art studios they hired etc. So it's not very uncommon.

My opinion is that you should pick your battles. Only make things where you deem is necessary.

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ