Balancing

CheshireJelly

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey... I'm somewhat new to RPG Maker Vx Ace and I was wondering if someone could help me... You see I'd like the attacks and enemies and things like to blance out... I've tried and I only seem to make the enimies too difficult to kill or the player is over powered... I want a system like that in the Paper Mario series... Where the player starts with about 10 health and does about 3-5 damage but when equiping weapons doesnt make their attacks raise up to 30... For example I made a character named "Jared" and he starts as level one with about 3 attack... But he is also equiped with a set of claws that I want to make only add about 4 more attack but it sends his attack up to 30-40 and it makes the battles way too easy and he overpowers the other characters in the party... Could anyone please help me?

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
everything in the game can be rebalanced to almost any number levels, but the defaults are based around higher numbers, and you need to change them.

Default damage formula is 4*a.atk - 2*b.def, that means that the damage is four times the attack value of the attacker minus two times the defense value of the attacked.

values of 3 attack for the user and +4 attack from the weapon results in an attack value of 7, which will result in a base damage (before variance and defense) of about 28.

If you get a damage of 30-40, then most probably your weapon adds more than +4 attack.

But if you want the actor to start with a damage range of 3-5 points, you either need to change the damage formula, or reduce the attack value to 1 or 2 depending on what defense the first enemies have.

Vis_Mage

Novice Magician
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
As an avid Paper Mario player, I understand the typical damage range you are looking to achieve.