Basic Event Help

Phantom77

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I am a newbie and I'm still playing around with my RPG Maker MV, to learn basic features, resources, and techniques before I even begin working on a real project that I have in mind.

I created a two-page event, where I talk to an NPC who gives me two choices. I created a custom route for the NPC, and the route is clear of obstacles and walks the custom route like it is suppose to.

However, after I talk with the NPC, I find that the NPC stops following the custom route, and instead, continues to walk down, until he is blocked and then stays there. How do I make an NPC stick to its custom route I created, after I talk with an NPC?

Thank you anyone, for any response and help with this. Below are three screenshots to show how I have the event set up, and also to show the custom route I have set up for the NPC.

FirstScreenShot.png
SecondScreenShot.png
ThirdScreenShot.png

glaphen

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I would assume it only does it when you select the first choice and change pages, when you change pages it starts from the top of the new move route, you could make it so the very first part of the event is a conditional branch if self switch a is on do the 2nd page text, else do the original text.

Phantom77

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I would assume it only does it when you select the first choice and change pages, when you change pages it starts from the top of the new move route, you could make it so the very first part of the event is a conditional branch if self switch a is on do the 2nd page text, else do the original text.
Ah ha. That makes sense. And yes, you're right. The NPC was starting from the beginning of its custom route when I picked the first choice, making the NPC walk down again, when it should not do so.