RMMZ Best practice for use of common events vs pure javascript

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I'm pretty new to RPG Maker so I was wondering what the veterans had to say about the following scenario. Basically, I'm implementing a system where when Character A does their normal attack, some special action will happen. My initial stab at it was the following:

1. Modify Game_Actor.prototype.performAction to set a game variable to the subject name in the action.isAttack() clause.
  2. Create a common event and have it run whenever the Attack skill is invoked.
  3. The script in the common event will check the game variable set in #1 to see if it is Character A.
  4. If it is Character A, then run the special action.
It works, but I got to thinking, if I'm just running a script anyway, is there any downside in taking the script from the common event and just having it run during the action.isAttack() section of the performAction function? (also please let me know if my coding sucks, pretty new to JS also though have a lot of other coding experience)

To me, that seems like the right way to do it since it puts the logic in less places and is less complex (also, my understanding of common events is that they should be common ie. used in multiple places. This one is just for the one scenario), but not sure if there are any risks modifying the core scripts like that.

JavaScript:
    $.aliasPerformAction = Game_Actor.prototype.performAction;
    Game_Actor.prototype.performAction = function (action) {
        $.aliasPerformAction.call(this, action);

if (action.isAttack()) {
            //setting battleAttacker to whoever is attacking
            $gameVariables.setValue(161, BattleManager._subject._name);
            console.log('person attacking: ' + BattleManager._subject._name);

//**** Put common event script here instead of in common event?
        }

Last edited:

Arctica

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
----
Primarily Uses