Jragyn

JABS codemonkey
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
As the primary author for JABS, I'm extremely proud about how far it has come!
Since about three weeks into the development process (when I made the first visible achievement: a slash appeared when the button was pressed), I've been driving this on with the flames of 1000 excited suns that never thought they'd be able to write something like this!

However, there is one significant pain point I've run into with this big beautiful plugin: it's length. The thing is so dang big! With all the comments/jsdocs/documentation I've written into the code, it just surpassed the 11k-lines-long mark the other day (if you don't really know what that translates to in regards to being a "pain point", go look here and search for the word "battler" and find the logic that checks if the battler is the player or not). As I've mentioned, by day I'm also a developer, doodling up web APIs and stuff for backend servers and sometimes working with frontend apps written in various frameworks. In both of those instances, there is plenty of organization with folder structure and whatnot.

My outstanding question that I haven't really seen anything about:
Is there a best practice for developing a plugin that leverages multiple external files? Not to be confused with adding additional plugins. I know that RPG Maker MZ (and MV) leverages nodejs behind the scenes to spin up the app, so I have tried to create folders and move smaller datacontract-like files back there, but these files seem to lose reference/knowledge of all the rest of the code that makes up RMMZ (presumably because its not included as a "plugin"). I've also debated trying to maybe use typescript and just output my plugins, but that sounds kinda hacky...

Masked 

Assistant
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMZ