Best software for sprite animation?

RANDROID

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I'm just about ready to start animating some sprites I've created (to be used in RM), but I'm kind of new to animation.
I have Photoshop CS5, but I'm wondering if there isn't any better software for this - I read somewhere that Photoshop isn't the best when it comes to animation.

Assuming money isn't an issue, what would you guys recommend?

Edit: I just saw that this same question was already asked: http://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?/topic/35795-tool-or-tip-for-animating-sprites/

I would delete this thread if I could. My bad! x_X

TANGENT - 3 sprites complete (@RetrovertGames, @Rg_RANDROID).png

Last edited by a moderator:

Creative Ed

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hey randroid, honestly I don't think you really need more than photoshop to animate, it may not be very good to do complex animations (non-pixel art), but for pixel art it's good enough, since you don't need more than a program that just plays back your animation.
You can try other software though, if you still don't want to use photoshop for this.

You can take a look at Graphics Gale, which is an oldie but a goodie. It's also made for pixel work.
There's also GrafX2 which is free, and it's good enough. Although the interface it's kinda ugly because they made it in pixel art lol.

RANDROID

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey randroid, honestly I don't think you really need more than photoshop to animate, it may not be very good to do complex animations (non-pixel art), but for pixel art it's good enough, since you don't need more than a program that just plays back your animation.

You can try other software though, if you still don't want to use photoshop for this.

You can take a look at Graphics Gale, which is an oldie but a goodie. It's also made for pixel work.