Best way to make a picture menu/achieve this screenshot?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by IAmJakeSauvage, May 21, 2018.

1. IAmJakeSauvage

IAmJakeSauvage Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hey guys,

I've attached a mockup of what I'm looking to do and I'm just wondering the best way to go about it. Essentially, the only thing changing on the page are the character portraits/hearts as their relationship variable increases and I'm wondering what would be the best way to go about this?

RelationshipMockup.png

Thanks in advance!,

2. AdamSakuru

AdamSakuru [Null_Value] Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Is this going to be a custom menu page? Or something you could do with parallel process eventing?
    (I made the shop menu in my game with parallel processes)

3. Kuro DCupu

Kuro DCupu Trust me, I'm a veteran RMer Veteran

First Language:
    Indonesian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    What I can think of is using show pictures. Five picture ID will be used with lotsa image prepared for every possible condition (pic of 1 heart, pic of 2 heart, pic of 3 heart, etc). If you don't want to be bothered coordinating, you can have all the picture's dimension in screen size. This is the easiest-static way, and most people do that.

Although if it's me, I will use more picture to decorate and animate the thing.

4. AdamSakuru

AdamSakuru [Null_Value] Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Okay, I'll give you my rundown of how I'd do this, but this is assuming it's not some scene you're coding that's accessed from the main menu or something.

Have a parallel process start as you transfer the player to a room with black tiles that cover the player. The parallel process would bring up the images of the two characters. Then you run a check on two variables (their heart variables) and have the parallel process draw the hearts in position based on the variables.