yamashta

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hello! I'm completely and utterly new to the art of RPG Maker.

I'd like to make a game SIMILAR in functioning to Yume Nikki or Ib, where fighting isn't exactly a part of the game, but MAYBE a HP system is ( player get's 'attacked', lowers health, has to 'find' something to replenish it ). I'd also like to, if possible, have it be as simple and flat looking as possible. Kind of like the older pokemon games.

( naturally I'd want things to be in color, though. )

Basically not super duper fancy, pretty flat looking like mentioned above. Only directions are up, down, and to either side. No complex isometric directions ( SW, SE, NE, NW ). Pretty much how Yume Nikki and Ib are.

I'd like to make the sprites and scenery ( floors, buildings, walls, items, inventory menu, startup menu, etc. ) myself. I'm an artist who feels I'm ( relatively ) okay at pixelling enough to make something that doesn't look too bad. I'd also like to incorporate my own music, preferably old school sounding 8-bit midi files and similar sound effects.

I simply don't know where to start or how to go about doing it. I feel as if I'd need templates to work with ( image templates to either draw on top of or to edit/add on to ), or something along those lines. I'm VERY bad at anything involving numbers, so simple pixel by pixel dimensions being listed ( ex: You'll need a so-and-so image at 14x40 ) are very confusing for me, as well as just about any kind of coding/scripting. ;_;