Monke

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Im not that good at laws or the legality of this at all, but would it be possible for me to buy a license from someone who bought the license for his plugins originally and just never ended up using it? Again I don't know much about the legality of this, but I will pay for a license.

Kes

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Quick answer - no. The other person does not have the right to sell on the license as it is granted to the original purchaser only. That is because you do not 'own' the software, you only 'own' the license - in the same way as you don't 'own' Windows or iOS. And what you don't own, you cannot sell.

EDIT
But wait. You spoke about plugins, but you are posting in scripts. Which is it? The reason being that if you are using scripts, therefore VX Ace, there is no issue.

In the header for the main Ultra Lighting script you have this:

Code:
# 2. You can use the script for free in both non-commercial and commercial
#    projects;

In which case, just go ahead. If, on the other hand, you are using plugins then you are in the wrong forum and what I wrote in my first paragraph stands.

Please clarify what you are using.

Last edited:

Restart

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Quick answer - no. The other person does not have the right to sell on the license as it is granted to the original purchaser only. That is because you do not 'own' the software, you only 'own' the license - in the same way as you don't 'own' Windows or iOS. And what you don't own, you cannot sell.

Software licenses are commonly considered to be covered under the First Sale Doctrine - in the same way that you can resell a Harry Potter book, or a Pokemon Red cartridge, or a Hunt for Red October DVD, you can resell your old windows 95 install CD, as long as you remove the program from your computers.