Calling a base stat parameter

KeenWolf

Amateur Game Creator
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I would like to know if it is possible to pull information from the Classes.JSON file. What I am attempting to do is use Yanfly's armor scaling plugin to create a formula that uses the base defense of a class to calculate damage reduction. The formula I'm attempting is: armor = (target.def / (target.base_def + target.level)) * 100. The problem is obviously with target.base_def. I'm very new to rpg maker when it comes to scripting so I don't know how to look into the files myself so I ask if there is a way to call a class's base parameters in the notebox like this. This is important to make armor in the game more valuable while at the same time prevent an enemies attack from ever being 0 or so small that it might as well be 0.

This screen shot is of the enemies basic attack which should make an enemy that has 25 atk deal ~100 dmg. That damage should be decreased based on the armor formula in the notebox which if the target actor is level 1 and has a base def of 14 and a current defense of 26 it will do a calculation of: armor = (26 / (14 + 1)) * 100 = 173.33. This number then goes into Yanfly's armor scaling formula of: damage *= 100 / (100 + armor) which in this case would be 100 *= 100 / (100 + 173.33) = 37 damage dealt. That amounts to 63% damage reduction where as without that 12 additional defense the damage reduction would only be 48%. I'm looking to create a flexable armor system that makes building armor a viable strategy while not letting it get too powerful.

problem 1.png

If anyone reading this is confused as to what I am asking I would like to know if it is possible to call the base defense parameter to be put into a plugin rather than try and put it into the damage formula box which I already know can't be done.

Here is Yanfly's Page: http://yanfly.moe/2015/11/28/yep-33-armor-scaling/

Victor Sant

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score