Zwataketa

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP
Hello all,

I am new to using RPG Maker XP. I am trying to create a new project, but I keep getting a "Failed to load actor data" error. This is confusing to me as I do not understand why I would have this kind of error when creating a project, as opposed to loading. You can imagine how this is a hurdle to my entry with the program.

For context, yes I specifically need to use RPG Maker XP rather than another version, for personal reasons. I am trying to create the project in it's own folder, as opposed to the "System" folder the program defaults to, as that causes a "Failed to copy folder" error. Also, currently I am using the trial, and I'll be asking for the full version for christmas.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
we need more info to really help you, but first guess is that you placed the project in the wrong folder.
RMXP is too old, a few things have changed between the time it was programmed and the current windows definitions, and that causes some problems
One of which is that the default folder where it tries to place projects is now restricted, causing project creation to fail.

If that is not the case, it might be that the XP-RTP is not correctly installed. The RTP is installed by a second setup called from the main setup, and again that call has been restricted since then and only is allowed by windows if the main setup has been launched with full admin privilegues.

mudkipi

Ken
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP
Hello all,

I am new to using RPG Maker XP. I am trying to create a new project, but I keep getting a "Failed to load actor data" error. This is confusing to me as I do not understand why I would have this kind of error when creating a project, as opposed to loading. You can imagine how this is a hurdle to my entry with the program.