Can't use number in variables

Orifiael

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I make websites and applications for a living... Therefor I have a certain logic in coding, which I understand myself.
Now my issue is this:

I first declare a variable in a COMMON EVENT.
Make sure it is set to zero.
Then I add +1 .. which would make it an integer with 1.

I run it, the game bugs out, shows an empty text box.
Whatever I try, I am unable to use a variable to return a number, and my logical brain is absolutely baffled.

upload_2019-11-23_14-50-8.png

So here is how I reproduce, after picking up an amethyst, I can break it down into its core elements with a common event as shown above. I use the item:
upload_2019-11-23_14-47-13.png

And it crashes.. it shows some weird jumping black bar, or sometimes a empty textbar
upload_2019-11-23_14-47-29.png
Now if I remove the variables from the event, I do get this (as expected):"
upload_2019-11-23_14-50-22.png
upload_2019-11-23_14-49-0.png

Help me understand, I beg you.

So this works:
upload_2019-11-23_15-7-4.png
upload_2019-11-23_15-6-40.png

But adding this crashes it:
upload_2019-11-23_15-8-20.png
upload_2019-11-23_15-7-59.png

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

slimmmeiske2

Little Red Riding Hood
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMXP

I've moved this thread to VXAce Support. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

Shiro-chan

Friendly Neighbourhood Neppy Maid
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Do you have any custom scripts installed? It's possible your var22 is assigned to something that influences your GUI.

Also, if you want a variable as a specific value, you don't need to make it 0 first and then add whatever needed, you can set it as that value right off the bat and reduce the CPU cycle. With enough calls you'd otherwise slowly but surely bog the system down.

Orifiael

Warper