RMMZ Carrying variable and switch values across multiple games

Ender570

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I'm working on a project now that i plan on releasing in monthly installments (chapters) and I just realized that I'm not exactly sure how I'm going to carry the information from each installment into the next.

I figured I would have the player just answer questions at the beginning of each chapter to set the variables and switches, but there are 2 problems with this approach

1. The sheer amount of information I already need transferred after only (almost) one chapter would feel incredibly annoying to have to sort through and answer for... I can only imagine how it would feel at the end of, say, chapter 4 or 5

2. There are a few actions that I want to remain secret and seem inconsequential ... having it pop up as a question in the next chapter would pull the curtain back a bit

I'm a mediocre programmer on my best days, so I was really hoping someone could point me in the right direction... maybe someone has attempted something like this in the past and can offer some insight?

Thanks again!

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Visustella's Save Core has global variables that should do the trick for this.

Edit: I misunderstood the problem--if you continue from the same project without recreating the game from scratch, telling players to copy over their save file should work fine? I've had to do this with manual updates before.

Last edited:

gstv87

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
write everything down into a file.
it's the only option.

Ender570

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I'm seeing a few plugins that deal with persistent data .. but nothing for MZ, sadly.