Change Row with the Formation Menu [Yanfly's Row Formation]

thebangzats

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Hi all, so I'm trying to add a twist to Yanfly's Row Formation script and instead make something similar to the system in Darkest Dungeon.

In a nutshell, both allies and enemies have 4 rows, and each can only be occupied by 1 character.
Skills have a user requirement (must be standing in a certain row) and can only target certain rows (e.g. Slash can only be used by someone in Row 1 or 2, and can only hit enemies in Row 1). Some Skills move you around, but you can also do it the hard way and spend a turn moving. Whenever you move, you shift the party around. If someone in Row 1 moves back to Row 2, whoever is in Row 2 moves to Row 1. If someone in Row 1 moves back to row 3, whoever is in Row 2 moves to Row 1, and whoever is in Row 3 moves to Row 2.

(you can also just click the link and watch their battle system in action).

I'm not very good with scripting, but I did manage to make moving in battle work using Skills that move you and an ally at the same time. What I don't know how to do is add the ability to move around outside of battle.

Yanfly's Row Formation script has a Row Menu that you can open up both inside and outside of battle, but I can't use this because from a lot of searching, no one seems to know how to make it so that only 1 character can occupy 1 row. Without the ability to change rows outside of battle, it becomes a little tedious. I think I have an elegant solution, but I can't script my way out of a paper bag, so some help would be nice:

What I need is a way to control Rows using the Party Formation menu, NOT the Row menu.