Simon D. Aelsi

Voice Actor/Frelance Composer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Hylian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
How much thought do we really put in to the costume design of our characters? How much "real-world" logic are we going to allow into our game(s)?

What are your personal methods? Do you give that one chick gravity-defying hair, knowing fully well that hair doesn't work that way IRL? Or do you give the island native barely anything at all, knowing fully well that he must be hella cold under that island loin cloth?
I'm curious... when designing costumes, what makes YOU tick? Do YOU apply real-world logic to your outfits?

Why or why not?

Talk to me!

Last edited by a moderator:

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm no artist myself, but when I commissioned pictures in the past I usually try to make the cloth descrption sensible.

Especially idiotic are the pictures of winged people in formal suits - do people think that wings are detachable and can be glued on the back after they donned complex clothing with very small wingholes?

Euphony

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I've played games where the characters had strange outfits and totally pulled it off, and I've played games where I've looked at a character's outfit and gone WTF.

Personally, I prefer simple, realistic clothing. In the case of a traditional RPG fantasy setting: tunic, boots, cloak, maybe an interesting hat or piece of headgear depending on the character. Certainly nothing crazy or physics-defying. I'd rather a character's words and actions tell me who they are, not some fantastical outfit. Of course, what a character is wearing can supplement their personality. But unless the character has a very specific job that needs to be reflected in their outfit, it's not a top priority for me.

Prodigy 1216

Prodigious Member
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Malanglish
Primarily Uses
N/A