Character event/pages help

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Jackattacks28, Jan 25, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Jackattacks28

Jackattacks28 Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Hello everyone. 

I am pretty new to VX ACE, been watching HOURS of youtube videos especially Crackedrabbitgaming learning etc. I usually do a bunch of searching before I end up googling the issue but I cant seem to spot whats wrong this time. I have a character in game NPC that eventually becomes a part of my party. It start off as en event where the character asks me to find some ingredients, I've got that and when it confirms that I have the items i have it switch to event 4 where he moved up towards the stove then waits and replies with a text. Now I cant seem to get the event page 4 to start on its own, I have to use the action button which created a weird awkward pause between events 2/3 and 4. After this I have it set to where the character decides to join my PT and his sprits is removed. 

Here is an imgur album with the SS

http://imgur.com/a/RuxDl

I appreciate all help.

Thanks

2. meowchelle

meowchelle Veteran

Have you tried setting the page's trigger to autorun? 

Marsigne likes this.
  3. Jackattacks28

First Language:
    English
    Yeah that seemed to work, but the event is running and completing if I talk to the NPC again right after. I have the "chives" and "potatoes" just set as control switches and nothing else so i dont think that works lol. Is it better to always do fetch quests like this with actual items, should i be making actual items in the game and using it that way?

4. Psiho_c

Psiho_c Villager Member

However you want

Once you get use to use switch, not just the on/of but the variable ones (numbers) you will have a lot of flexibility - greater risk of doing something wrong if not careful.

Using the items + condition branch is more easy way to away any kind of complication.