leekeater

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello!
I'm fairly new at this this and I'm definitely having trouble with dimensions for sprites.

I will post images that will help.

I'm having trouble reworking dimensions for the sprite sheet of one of the characters in my game. I know she is too tall (her bunny ears) and shortening them would make them look weird (more like a bear's). Right now the file is the default for sprite sheets (576 x 384) and I have no idea how to get the exact dimensions to get her and her bunny ears looking right and moving in the game normally. I have tried changing the canvas size manually but at this point it feels like I'm just putting random numbers in.

Please help!!! Thank you!

Attachments

Kes

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
What I suggest you do is put her on her own sprite sheet. Look to see how big a single image is. For the sake of this example, let us say that she is 52 pixels wide because of the pony tail on the side view and 62 pixels high.

Create a sprite sheet that is 3 x 52 wide = 156 pixels and 4 x 62 high = 248 pixels. Put your sprite on there. The engine doesn't care what size it is, as long as the numbers are divisible by 8. Then when you name that file, put $ at the beginning. That tells the engine that this is a single sprite, not one sprite on a sheet of 8 sprites.

I am going to move this to Resource Support, which is the forum for getting help with creating resources.

leekeater

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What I suggest you do is put her on her own sprite sheet. Look to see how big a single image is. For the sake of this example, let us say that she is 52 pixels wide because of the pony tail on the side view and 62 pixels high.