ShiraCheshire

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm looking for advice on classes!
(And just to be clear: I'm looking for advice on the classes themselves, not the process of eventing and the database and how to create a status effect and whatnot.)

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to them, and I'd really like to learn how they work. Should I be touching the stat or exp curves at all? What kind of classes and abilities would you guys recommend? Roughly what level do you think the players should be at at the end of the average game, and how many skills would you consider normal? How many equip items should be between "rusty knife" and "supergolden legendary whatever knife of infinity slaying"? Are there any pre-built classes around that are free to use/tweak? Any good resources or tutorial pages/videos for learning more about this stuff?

So basically, any advice on classes would be welcome!

BlackRoseMii

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I'm no expert on it either, but I think researching how other games handle classes would be a good idea.
I think the most important thing about classes is how they differ from each other. A cleric wouldn't be able to deal as much damage as a knight. But a knight wouldn't be able to have the same healing skills like the cleric. So you'll have to have not only the stats but also the skills and usable weapon types in mind. With some creativity, you could come up with pretty funny and unique classes.

About the levels and weapons: I also have a problem with that. I left the level max open and put a new weapon/armor in each new town. I doubt that's a good idea though ^^°

The engine has default classes btw. You can use them as they are or tweak them. Or even ignore them completely.

ShiraCheshire

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
@BlackRoseMii