Combat System like Little Fighter 2

shadyneighbour

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hi everybody!

This is my first time posting here; I've been mucking around half-heartedly with various game programs for over a year, but I've only really started seriously experimenting in the last few months (and my creations now, while still nowhere near "good", are stellar compared to my first abominations).

Now, for the matter at hand.

I have been working on a little project for fun that, until I think of a title, is currently named 'Generic Fantasy RPG'. I have been tweaking and fiddling with ideas like quests, sidequests, and am even building up to things like variables on how much a character likes you (because errybody seems to love romanceable *cough* waifu *cough* characters in RPGs nowadays), as well as morality systems!

However, the big issue here at hand is combat. Combat is a vital part of every RPG, and I don't want to be one of the hundreds of guys out there who has the standard turn-based RPG fight system (no offence to those of you who do use that; it has it's charm, but I figure there are plenty of people out there who already do it way better than me, so I might try something different).

Today I thought about the game Little Fighter 2, a game I spent countless hours playing when I was a teenager. I thought that, rather than a generic turn-based system, why not use something like that?

The idea would be, your character is walking along, doing their thing, when all of a sudden you have a random encounter! Screen goes all squiggly, fades out, starts playing battle music, and fades into a a screen like an LF2 battle scene. Character and Party members get to run and jump about, fight a predetermined number of bad guys, and use basic attacks, as well as 'Special Moves'. When all enemies are defeated, battle ends, and there is much rejoicing. If party is defeated, Game Over occurs, and there is significantly reduced rejoicing.