HalestormXV

Deranged
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Sarcasm/English
Primarily Uses
N/A
So I have a question relating to music. Now, we know that music used/ripped from other games etc or artisists without permission is well illegal in most cases without proper permission. That's a given. But I am unsure about something.

Okay I am not a musician, but one of my teammates makes amazing original work. Now we are trying to understand something. We came across a site that seems to be fairly popular in the music community called WilliamKage.com. On this site he offers these things called "soundfonts" to download. Now once again I am not the composer, nor am I musically talented but my partner is phenomenal with this stuff. So I am curious. Could you download these "soundfonts" and use them commercially since he makes up his own compositions and music but is just using this soundfont.

The way I look at it from my perspective is that it is like a word document. You can copyright a document because it is all of your work, your story your text etc. But you are just using the "Times New Roman" font. Pardon my poor view on it but as I said I am no musician so is this the same thing? He is creating his own document, it is his composition, is work, his arrangement etc, but just using a different "soundfont". Or is that totally off the mark?. 

Yin

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Looks like the guy gets some sounds from actual games. Even so, it says right in his faq

What about commercial use?

In the US, you may have fair use protection, depending on the nature of the project, and how much the sound is altered. Consult an attorney before selling anything that uses these samples.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It would depend on the terms of use on that site. Take a look and see what he says can and can't be done with them.