Synrec

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
So I'm making a plugin for sale and I wanted to know if I should obfuscate it?

Granted the reason I want to obfuscate it is because I don't want people to just take my stuff and either repost it as their own or do minor edits and then claim it as their own. This is my first project and I'm not exactly well known so it won't take much for some other plugin developer with a larger fan base to overwhelm me in virtual claim. Even after fighting through all that, the damage will be significant enough.

The reason I dont is because of the nature of the code itself. It rewrites a significant portion of rpg maker's core functions making it incompatible with any script which relies on those core functions. This rewrite is done as a need rather than a want and whilst it is possible to alias the functions, it makes no sense as those functions need to be rewritten so as they can function optimally for the design of the plugin.

Would you say that since I have a plugin that affects a large base of rpg maker's core files that i should leave it unobfuscated? Or rather, because of the complexity that i should obfuscate it?

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It's really up to you.

If you have overwritten a lot of the core functions and you obfuscate, you're basically making your plugin incompatible with a lot of others.

If you've overwritten a lot of the core functions and you don't obfuscate, you're basically making your plugin incompatible with a lot of others.

The difference is that someone who is willing would be able to make a patch for it without having to go back to you. But if you've overwritten a lot of the core functions, there wouldn't be many plugin writers who would want to make a patch.

Synrec

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It's really up to you.