hppyniss

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I'm very new to RPG Maker, so this is likely a user error, but I wanted to see if you guys have any solutions. I have a common event (which plays a sound and shows a picture) called when a certain item is used, then another common event that is triggered by the previous common event which erases the picture and plays another sound (specifically, the "show picture" common event turns a switch on, and the "hide picture" common event is set to run parallel when that switch is on, then it is set to turn off the switch.) This seems very basic, and looks to my noobish eyes like it should work. HOWEVER, whenever I load up a save or start a new game, the "hide picture" sound is played, which makes me think that somehow, despite the "show picture" switch being off, this "hide picture" common event is running. Why is this? 

It's probably worth mentioning that this has also happened with another common event call that was set to run parallel, triggered by a switch. For some reason, at the start of the game, when it would be impossible for the triggering switch to be on, this common event would run. This randomly stopped being a problem, and I don't think I did anything to fix it. 

Is this a weird MV glitch? Or, more likely, am I messing something up?

Thanks you guys!

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
When you need help figuring out events, it's really helpful to us if you show screenshots, as descriptions don't include all the information we need to see and are often confusing to understand.  Use Alt+PrintScreen to capture the active window, and don't crop anything out of it - that gives us pretty much everything we could want to see for the current event (if there are multiple tabs, sometimes we'll need screenshots of each tab) without including the desktop background, which shrinks everything and makes it harder to read.