Coping with Thoughts of Unoriginality

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by psipumpkin, Aug 25, 2019.

1. psipumpkin

psipumpkin BWL! Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    So, I've been working on my game for a few months now, and I'm enjoying the process immensely. I think it's coming along well, and I WANT to be proud of what I've created. The problem is whenever I look at the game, I can't help but think "this is just an EarthBound clone". It's not like I'm intentionally stealing story beats or anything, and I'd like to think I have enough unique elements to make my game stand out. Even so, I fear that from the outside looking in it's not enough and my inner critic won't shut up. Can anyone else relate to these feelings? If so, how did you deal with them, whether that be by changing your mindset or changing your game?

Lemonrice likes this.
  2. Ms Littlefish

Ms Littlefish Dangerously Caffeinated Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    The thing is, nothing is completely original. In fact, trying too hard to be unique can be an absolute disaster. Think of it like cooking a classic dish. People can take the exact same, simple ingredients and make completely different dishes. Properly cooking the dish takes the correct prep work and cooking techniques. Having familiar flavors aren’t a hinderance to an enjoyable dish because they went together well and the way you cooked it up can only be replicated exactly by you. Sure, maybe certain ingredients would be a novel combination...but maybe it’s disgusting and doesn’t belong together. Focus on finding your secret ingredient rather than finding the next best thing since sliced bread. #MegIsVeryHungry

3. MushroomCake28

MushroomCake28 KAMO Studio Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I completely agree with the above post.