TopGorilla17

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Okay, so this is my first time posting and usually I'm able to find the answer to my questions just by doing a little detective work, so I apologize if this has been asked before, but I tried searching with every term I could think of and came up with nothing that really helped me in this particular case.

I have a character in my project that I want to have a sort of DBZ-esque energy beam attack (its going to fall under magic), similar to the good ol' Kamehameha blast. Animating the attack isn't going to be a big issue for me, given some time.

My question is, if I'm using a side-view battler script (Yanfly) can I track the attack animation to that specific character's battler? And if so, how might I achieve this?

For example, if Char. A has the energy beam attack, but the player were to switch their party position with Char. C, how would I get the attack to not look as though Char. C were casting it?

For visual aid, what I'm trying to avoid is having this:

|   <---------- A   

|                  B   

|                  C    

|                  D    

Turn into this:

|   <---------- C  

|                  B   

|                  A   

|                  D

As opposed to the desired effect:

|                  C

|                  B   

|   <---------- A   

|                  D

The easiest solution that I can seem to come up with is to do different versions of the attack with variants of the animation that switch out based on the character's order in the party, and I'm familiar with using switches for events such as quests and such, but I'm not sure how I'd go about setting a switch or variable for this purpose, if it's even possible.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV