Telemindred

Telemindred the Archmage
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Alright, so I'm needing/looking for any script out there which can alter the critical damage that's dealt when an attack lands a critical hit. To be clear: I'm not looking to change the overall critical damage in the system, I've already learned how to change it from x3 to any other number. What I'm needing is a script that allows me to alter the critical damage for each individual skill. My goal is to have certain weapon skills have a higher chance of critical hits, and higher critical hit damage, than other weapon skills. So far I haven't found anything, and I'm still learning about scripting basics and am unable to make one myself as of right now.

Does anyone know of any scripts out there that I could use?

Sixth

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Hungarian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Try this script:
Not tested, but it should work.

But be aware of compatibility issues.
Due to how the default code of the engine handles damage calculations, overwriting the method is the only way to change the damage at the right place.
The damage calculation method is probably one of the worst coded part of the default engine. >.>

TheoAllen

Self-proclaimed jack of all trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
@Sixth you could just "delete" the default apply_critical and use another method that accepts an item as a parameter then use the critical calculation there. For example, in the ActionResult --> make_damage.

But I don't disagree that it is one of the worst code in the default code.

Sixth

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Hungarian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Modifying the make_damage method in the ActionResult class would return incorrect values.
The damage already passed through an integer conversations by then, and applying multiplication there would make the variance calculation less... variant. :D