Curious 10 (How Do You Keep Healthy?)

Discussion in 'General Lounge' started by samkfj, Jan 4, 2019.

1. samkfj

samkfj Bug Powder Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I know by now--y'all are probably like "why does he keep naming and numbering his posts as Curious X?"

It's really just my nature--inquisitive and trying to spark conversation. That, and it's a social experiment I've been running, and y'all are my guinea pigs. Joking

Regardless--what do you do to keep healthy?

Personally, I like boxing. I've been boxing since I was a teenager; I was a freshman in high school when I first put on the gloves, and a junior when I competed and earned my golden gloves.

Mostly I hit bags for between 30-45 minutes, then do cardio for another 30 (running or using the machines at my gym) or do weights. I also added hitting a tire with a sledgehammer to my regimen, which I call "hitting a tire with a sledgehammer."

I also try to keep between 1500-1800 calories a day; for me that means cutting a meal out--I know--I know... it's not good to do that, but I've trained myself over the years to do it. I try to drink as much water as I can too. Best thing I did was cut cokes out of my diet. I occasionally have one, but I drink mostly a lot of unsweetened tea (very foreign to someone in the South where we all grew up with sweet tea) and Arizona brand green tea (because I have--so much of it.)

--but don't get me wrong (oh no...) I love food; every Friday, my girl and I get pizza or we go out to eat somewhere nice and just enjoy it.

I also try to run. I don't like running that much, but when I do--I like to also run and climb and jump over things, I think there's a professional word for it, but I just call it "running and climbing and jumping over things." Normally, what stops me is the weather; I don't like running in the cold or rain.